Gishwhes is the Greatest International Scavanger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen. Click the link for  G.I.S.H.W.H.E.S INFO.

Gishwhes is something I’ve always wanted to do. It was started in 2011 by one of my most favorite actors in the world, Misha Collins. If you’ve been following along at home you may have noticed I love the show Supernatural. Not only is it an awesome show, it’s helped me big time. It’s helped me cope with a lot of the things happening in my life. When I was with A2 it helped me escape. I could turn on Netflix, boot up Supernatural, and just zone out and ignore him. Although I am a huge fan, Supernatural isn’t the reason I wanted to do Gishwhes. I wanted to do it for the fun. To break out of my shell a bit.

You may have already guessed what kept me from joining the hunt in previous years. I wasn’t allowed. I know, it sounds ridiculous to me too when I think about it. A grown woman not ALLOWED to do something. With A2 I needed permission to do a lot of things. Toward the end of our relationship when I just started doing my own thing, he got super pissed. I finally got to a point where I stopped asking him if I could do something and started telling him I was going to do something. It was rough. There were fights. We broke up a few times. Of course, he always managed to manipulate me into not breaking up and not kicking him out.

This year A2 is finally out of my life. It’s been the best year I’ve ever had. I have an amazing boyfriend and my kids are both growing and doing amazing things. Oh, and I’m participating in Gishwhes this week! It’s a milestone for me and it’s a huge deal. I feel free. Not just because I’m doing things I’m normally afraid of doing, like singing on video, but because I CAN. I can because I don’t need permission. I can because my boyfriend has no issues with me being my own person. I can because I’m an adult dammit and I can make my own choices.

And now I’m crying. Yes, it’s THAT important to me. I feel like I’m finally getting my life back.

Leave a Reply

