I want to start out by saying that this is NOT a political blog. I don’t plan on telling you who to vote for. This post is to simply put into perspective some things I noticed last night while watching the debate.

Psychiatrists have described Trump as having Narcissistic Personality, but after watching the debates last night I feel like his issues run much deeper. Trump is a classic abuser. It took him an entire 15 minutes (honestly I thought he wouldn’t last that long) to interrupt Clinton. Reports show that Trump interrupted Clinton 51 times during the debate last night. Sadly, Clinton took it like she was used to being interrupted. Clinton also interrupted Trump, but only 17 times. Here’s the thing, every time Trump interrupted Clinton, she simply tried to ignore him. She would talk louder to hopefully ensure she was heard, or she would just shake her head. Yet the first time she interrupted Trump he actually stopped and said “Excuse me” as to say, hey I’m the man here, shut your trap. This is a classic example of abuse. What is good for the goose suddenly isn’t good for the gander.

Aside from all the interrupting, Trump also insisted that every fact about him flip flopping was wrong. Yes, politicians flip flop all the time. Yes, some will back peddle and try to sway the conversation away from the topic at hand. Some will simply say they changed their mind (humans change their minds all the time, btw), but not Trump. Instead he tries to make you think you are remembering the past wrong, that you have your facts wrong. This is gaslighting all the way. Trump is a master manipulator and a gaslighter extraordinaire. And he’s not just gaslighting his competitor. He’s gaslighting an entire country. I’ve always felt this about him when I see him speak, but last night solidified it for me. Clinton managed to feed it right back to him. As soon as she let the word “crazy” escape her lips (and I 100% believe she knew EXACTLY what she was doing when she said that) Trump went nuts. He had been called out and you could see him seething. He pursed his lips more and his words started to come out jumbled. After Clinton told Trump to “Just join the debate by saying more crazy things.” is when he started saying things like  “very against-police judge.” and “big fat ugly bubble”. Basically Clinton reverse gaslighted Trump and he had no idea how to act. I’m willing to bet he’s never actually had someone stand up to him like that. A2 acted the exact same way when I told him what he was doing was gaslighting. He stumbled on his words and then told me I was wrong.

There is even an air of abuse surrounding his relationships. In a September 1990 issue of Vanity Fair Trump said  “I would never buy Ivana any decent jewels or pictures. Why give her negotiable assets?” (Source: http://www.vanityfair.com/magazine/2015/07/donald-ivana-trump-divorce-prenup-marie-brenner). That’s financial abuse plain and simple. There is no skirting that. There is a reason Trump is on his 3rd marriage. A reason bigger than him tossing his wives aside when they get too old, which is equally as disgusting.

As promised, I’m not going to tell you who to vote for. All I’m going to say here is that I don’t want an abusive gaslighter running this country. It scares the shit out of me. This election has seriously trigger the shit out of me.

Leave a Reply

